Changing WordPress username

wordpress profile capture showing the message "can't change username"Have you ever checked your WordPress profile and noticed you can’t change your username?

Did you ever realise that most people choose the same display name as the username, which then gives hackers a legitimate username to try and hack into your site?

Do you use the same username and display name and now want to change your username (because you don’t want to change your display name)?

Then you should change your username.

There are two ways you could do this:-

  1. through WordPress itself:
    • Create a new user with the username (backend name) that you want
    • Login as that user and verify your account
    • Make sure permissions are right between the users (you’ll want the new user to be (super/) admin)
    • Delete the old user and assign all old posts to the new user
  2. through the database:-
    • edit the username for the user in the user table
    • edit the username in the site meta table for super admin (only applicable in a multi site install)

I didn’t do it through WordPress itself, since I do like to play with the database :) But in theory it should work and is the suggested theory on multiple sites.

Let’s break down the second option:

  1. Make a backup of the database
  2. Open the database using your chosen method
    • for me this is to log into my providers cPanel, and select myPHPAdmin
    • go to the users table (not the usermeta table). The table will be called something {DB_Prefix}_users (usually wp_users or wp_x_users in a multisite install where x is the identifier for the site).
    • change the username field to the new desired name
    • when you save the entry you will most likely be kicked out of the backend immediately, simply login with your new username and all is good to go
    • if you do NOT have a MultiSite install, your job is done. If you DO have a multisite install, read on:
  3. still in the database, navigate to the wp_sitemeta table and look for the meta_key: site_admins.
    • There will be an entry like: <pre>a:1:{i:0;s:4:”john”;}</pre> and change it to the username you created in step 2. You will also need to change the “S:n” (in this case “s:4”) to a new value depending on the length of your username. So you’ll note for “john” it’s 4. For “john-you-won’t-guess-this-827646″ you would make the entry:<pre>a:1:{i:0;s:31:”john-you-wont-guess-this-827646”;}</pre>. For reference, the “i:0” is Index 0. If you have multiple users here, this line will have multiple indexes with each one serialised onto the line and having their own section. Make sure you change the correct one(s).

Not doing this final step will not kick you from the individual site admins, but it will prevent you from getting to the Network Settings area to add plugins, themes and do other “network” maintenance things (like adding or removing sites amongst others).

I’ll let you know now, I learned about step 3 the hard way after being locked out from the Network Settings area after changing my main username.

I could do everything an admin could do for their site, I just could no longer administer the network.

Searching the net found this entry on WordPress.org and solved my problem.

WordPress media library limited to 10MB

Screenshot 2015-09-14 11.23.102
I think I’m a little over my quota!

Have you ever noticed this in your blog? It’s never been there before, but it appeared in the last day or two. At the time I wasn’t sure how or why. It’s my blog hosted on one of my web hosting accounts, and I have no shortage of space. So why was I getting this warning?

Screenshot 2015-09-14 11.35.24Worse yet, I went to add a photo, and this happened. That’s when I realised the quota was real!

My first question is, what dickhead gave me such a quota!

My first action was to work out where it was imposed.

Then I found who the right royal dick was. It was yours truly!

I’ve been doing too much playing in the back end and I at some point, and for some unknown reason, have turned it on.

I’m running WordPress Multisite and it’s a setting hidden in the Network Settings.

To navigate to it, click on My Sites in the top left corner, and select Network Admin. Then from the next menu select Settings.

secret hiding place for the 10MB upload quota
this little setting on the right… Make sure you turn it off! :)

And that’s it! Once, you clear that little baby, you’ll be able to upload to your little hearts content.

UPDATE: It looks like I wasn’t the only one who’s ever done this! 

WordPress MultiSite & sunrise.php

Are you getting the above error message as well?

After doing a fresh install and enabling multi-sites I couldn’t see the Domain Mapping and Domains sub-menu options under Network Admin / Settings.

I loaded up my trusty editor and confirmed

define('SUNRISE', 'on' );

was in fact in the file. It was slightly higher than where it said, it’s not important, but I moved it anyway, and I still got the error.

I checked and sunrise.php was in fact in the correct location under /home/public_html/wp-content/sunrise.php

So how did I fix it?

The problem was, it was the incorrect (read:old??) sunrise.php file!

Copy the correct one from:

/home/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wordpress-mu-domain-mapping/sunrise.php

and replace the previous one, and reload your admin page. You will now see the welcoming domains page :D

If you want to find out more as to why it happened, and how it is that my sunrise.php got “moved” or “re-moved”, it was due to a conflict by domain mapping plugins. I’ll be blogged about it in the near future and it will appear here (currently in draft and not published).

WordPress MU Domain Mapping missing

Screenshot 2014-12-02 05.39.14

Screenshot 2014-12-02 05.55.36
Domain Mapping and Domain options returned

When upgrading from version 0.5.4.3 to 0.5.4.4 and returning to the network admin site, I had lost all access to the domain management tools. The options normally reside under Settings (right) were no longer there. A quick check of some domains I have setup through domain mapping confirmed that it was still working, ie things were being redirected, however I couldn’t check, change, add or remove any mappings. I couldn’t see them at all.

I went into the Network Admin plugins page to find the plugin hadn’t re-enabled itself after the update. As far as I know, this is the first time any plugin has failed to reactivate. If this was by design, a few moments of stress would have been alleviated if some user warning could have been provided.

After re-enabling the plugin, all domain maps were right where they should have been.